Honorary Secretary of the Council
(1906 – Till date)

  • 1906-1908: Sir Ashutosh Chaudhuri & Shri Hirendra Nath Dutta
  • 1909        : Sir Ashutosh Chaudhuri & Dr. Deva Prasad Sarvadhikari
  • 1910-1911: Dr. Nilratan Sarkar & Dr. Deva Prasad Sarvadhikari
  • 1912        : Dr. Nilratan Sarkar & Shri Hirendra Nath Dutta
  • 1913-1916: Shri HirendraNath Dutta & Mr. Abdul Rasul
  • 1917-1919: Shri HirendraNath Dutta & Maulavi A.K. Fazlul Huq
  • 1920: Shri HirendraNath Dutta & Shri Priya NathMukhopadhyaya
  • 1921-1931: Shri HirendraNath Dutta & Shri Brojendra Kishore Roy Chowdhury
  • 1932-1946: Shri Brojendra Kishore Roy Chowdhury & Shri Satyananda Bose
  • 1947-1948: Shri Snehansu Kanta Acharyya
  • 1949-1950: Shri Atul Chandra Dutta
  • 1950-1962: Shri Sasanka Sekhar Bagchi
  • 1962-1965: Shri Amarendra Nath Halder
  • 1965-1972: Shri Khagendra Mohan Chakravarty
  • 1972-1975: Shri Hirendra Nath Mullick
  • 1975-1990: Shri Khagendra Mohan Chakravarty
  • 1990-2005: Prof. Arun Kumar Gupta
  • 2005-2008: Shri Himendu Biswas
  • 2008-       : Prof. Ananda Deb Mukherjee


The Jatindra Mohan Sangrahashala, the archive of the National Council of Education, Bengal is a unique collection of six thousand manuscripts, seven thousand books, and two thousand two hundred forty-two periodicals. It came into being on 11th May, 1984 when Professor Jatindra Mohan Bhattacharjee donated to the National Council his personal collection of manuscripts, books and periodicals.

Dr. Triguna Sen Centre

Dr. Triguna Sen Centre of Life Long Education

Under this centre the Council through its various schools conducts non formal Education.

School of Language Management

Under this centre the Council through its various schools conducts non formal Education.


The Council has its book-sale shop situated on Raja Subidh Mullick Road by the side of the Council’s first gate which sales all publications of the Council. It remains open between 11 am and 5.30 pm on all days other than Sundays and holidays

Indumati Sabhagriha

Indumati Sabhagriha is the auditorium of the Council used for seminars and lectures. The auditorium is fully air-conditioned with uninterrupted power supply. The sitting capacity is 183. There is a small dais with a podium, inbuilt public address system, three microphones, four halogen lights and two side-lights, screen, three tables and six chairs for the dais, one greenroom with attached toilet.